Spiced Green Cabbage and Kamut Soup

Cabbage Soup
Spiced Green Cabbage Soup | veganblondes.com

Calling all SAMBAL OELEK lovers! It’s your time to empty half the bottle! I made this soup because I had half a head of cabbage left, and I try, I really do try not to toss out any vegetables. I used to buy a bunch of veggies thinking I’ll make this or that, and ended up tossing a lot. Now I buy what looks nice and make something with it. It took me a while to get to that point, but I find myself wasting way less than before (nice tap on the back, thank you!).

So on to my half cabbage… There’s always slaws, but I wanted a meal, not a side. So I thought some more. The kids just love earthy soups, that are more like a stew, so I would make them a nice earthy cabbage soup for lunch (plus leftovers!). But to get back to the sambal oelek… The kids don’t like too spicy (hard to believe for Indian kids), so I made my soup with just a touch of sambal, but served it alongside a nice big bowl of it! And the soup just craves the heat, it’s a pairing made in heaven! And if you like it like my kids, just make it with the amount required, and don’t add anymore. Everybody wins!

  • 2 cups Kamut® (or wheat berries), cooked according to package directions
  • 2 teaspoon grapeseed oil
  • 1 leek, white and pale green parts only, cut lengthwise and then sliced thin into half moons
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 bunch rainbow chard, stems chopped small and kept separately
  • 10 oz potatoes, cut in cubes of about 1/2″
  • 8 cups vegetable broth
  • Sprigs of fresh thyme and rosemary
  • 4 cups green cabbage, sliced thin
  • 1 can cannelloni beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 zucchini, cut in cubes of 1/2″
  • 1/8 teaspoon sambal oelek (or red pepper flakes)
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Before you start, make sure you cook your Kamut® or wheat berries according to package directions. If you haven’t soaked the grains, it may take close to 60-75 minutes to cook.

Heat the grapeseed oil over medium heat. Add the leek, garlic, and the chopped stems of the chard. Sauté until the leek is soft, about 4-5 minutes. Add the potatoes, vegetable broth, and the sprigs of thyme and rosemary. Let simmer until the potatoes are fork tender, but do not lose their shape if you stir the soup. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Add the cabbage and cook, covered, until softened, about 4-5 minutes more. Add the beans, the zucchini, the sambal oelek, and taste for salt and pepper. Adjust seasonings if necessary and simmer for another 5 minutes. Remove from the heat. Serve in soup bowls with a nice big helping of sambal oelek on the side. Bon appétit!

Karine

 

Leave a Reply

