Homemade Vegetable Broth

Vegetable Broth
Homemade Vegetable Broth | veganblondes.com

I have to admit, I don’t always make my own broth. But when I do, I use whatever vegetables I have left in the fridge. For the batch I made today, I had some leftover leeks (the top green part you never need in any recipe), so I used that instead of onion. Mushrooms also give broth a nice depth. You can add tomato as well. Depending on what I’ll be using the broth in, I make a different version. I have a spicy version (to which I add a chile pepper, some cloves, cinnamon and some pepper) as well as a milder version. Follow the process below and add what you have and enjoy some homemade goodness.

  • 2-3 carrots, roughly chopped
  • 2 parsnips, roughly chopped
  • 1 rutabaga or turnip, roughly chopped
  • 2 celery stalks, roughly chopped
  • a dozen sprigs fresh parsley
  • 5-7 sprigs fresh thyme
  • 2-3 leeks (top green part) or 1 onion, roughly chopped
  • 4-5 cloves garlic, keep the peel and smash them lightly
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 serrano chile (optional)
  • 8-10 whole cloves (optional)
  • 6-8 whole pepper (allspice) (optional)
  • 6-8 whole white peppercorns (optional)
  • Sea salt (optional or to taste)

Place all the ingredients in a big soup pot. Fill the pot with fresh water. Bring to a boil over high heat, reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer, uncovered, for about one hour. Taste and adjust seasonings and return to a simmer for another 15 minutes. Strain using a fine-mesh strainer. You can keep the broth for about 4 days in the refrigerator, but feel free to freeze it in smaller containers for future use.

Note that if you have the time and the energy, you can roast the vegetables (drizzled in olive oil) for about one hour at 400 degrees prior to putting them in the water and boiling. This adds a crazy amount of depth too. This broth is so good, you can drink it!

Karine

Vegetable Broth
Homemade Vegetable Broth | veganblondes.com

Leave a Reply

