No Noodle Pad Thai

Vegan Pad Thai
No Noodle Pad Thai | veganblondes.com

When you crave pad thai… I finally discovered  Cookie + Kate, a whole foods and vegetarian blog. I have been studying many recipes, many blogs, many cookbooks since I cut out the meat. And now, working towards a completely plant-based diet, I need a lot of inspiration. Kate is my new blog crush. Her recipes are mostly vegetarian, but easy to make vegan or plant-based.

This one came as I needed a dinner that I could prep all in advance since I was coming back home later that night. It was wonderful to cut all my veggies and make the peanut sauce in the afternoon. Kate has tofu in her recipe, but instead I added some hemp seeds and served my pad thai with some avocado on the side. I also used agave nectar instead of honey, and added  toasted peanuts for crunch. As long as you store your “noodles” separately from the sauce and mix your servings right before eating, you can store these in the fridge for a couple of days.

  • 3/4 pound daikon radish, peeled
  • 4 medium carrots, peeled
  • 1/2 pound zucchini
  • 1/2 pound bean sprouts
  • 4 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 3 tablespoons hemp seeds
  • 12 ounces extra-firm tofu, drained and squeezed of excess moisture, cut into 1/4 inch squares
  • Handful of cilantro leaves, plus more for serving
  • 2 tablespoons sesame seeds, preferably black (I didn’t have black ones on hand, so I used the pale ones)
  • 1/3 cup toasted peanuts
  • 4 small lime wedges, for serving

Peanut Sauce

  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • 2 tablespoons tamari or soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons honey or agave nectar
  • 2 teaspoons grated fresh ginger
  • 1 pinch red pepper flakes
  • 3 tablespoons water, to thin
  1. Using a julienne peeler, a mandoline or a spiralizer, create noodles out of the daikon, carrots and zucchini. Transfer the noodles to a large bowl and add the bean sprouts, onions, cilantro, sesame seeds, hemp seeds and tofu, if using.
  2. Make the peanut sauce by mixing all ingredients together.
  3. Portion the amount you want to serve right away and mix some sauce into it. Make sure all strands are coated. Serve with a wedge of lime and some extra cilantro, if desired.

Karine

Leave a Reply

