About Karine

Karine BW
photo: Manuela Masciadri Photography

My name is Karine. I was once probably one of the most extreme carnivores out there. Faint-of-hearts, stop reading for a minute and jump to the next paragraph! I was happy with sweetbreads, blood pudding, pork and veal, raw meats of all kind, game meats like elk, moose, and deer. Food was my life. I had a catering business and organized dinner parties that would have made a vegan faint. Life was spent in the kitchen, life was good.

I embarked on my vegan journey over year ago. I started on this path because of acne. I always had acne-prone skin, even during pregnancy. And after having kids, thinking my skin would get back to its hormonally-balanced self, I became extremely disappointed to see it was not. I started struggling with cystic acne, and tried every dermatologist and every cream out there. Then I decided to try a diet free of all animal products, to see how my skin would react to such measures. Unfortunately, at that time, I didn’t educate myself. So I started eating fruits and vegetables in large quantities, but my energy levels were quite low. I went back to meat, and tried a paleo diet. That didn’t work out either. Then one day, after feeling that meat wasn’t as satisfying as I thought it to be, I decided to order five vegan cookbooks, I started reading about plant-based protein, I started educating myself.

Miracle: my skin cleared up and my energy levels became pleasant (pleasant is pretty much all you can expect with a two- and a three-year-old!). Education was the key to my success, and the more I read, the more the other pillars of veganism became important to me: mercy for animals and protection of the environment.

Grains, seeds, and nuts are now the biggest part of my diet. I am a vegan striving to achieve a complete plant-based diet. I love whole and natural ingredients, and will show you how a vegan diet can be fun, easy, and delicious! #govegan

Karine

Leave a Reply

